Scottish Whisky Awards winners are unveiled

THE winners of this year’s Scottish Whisky Awards have been revealed.

Raasay carried off the top prize after being named as Scottish whisky distillery of the year.

The Hebridean site also carried off the prize for tourism destination of the year.

Glenmorangie was the big winner in the tasting competition, carrying off seven medals, including four golds.

Alan Wolstenholme, an honorary professor at Heriot-Watt University’s International Centre for Brewing & Distilling and chair of the judging panel, said: “Very many congratulations to all winners who were presented with their awards.

“The Scotch whisky industry has united on St Andrew’s Day once more with a goal to work together to promote and celebrate Scotch as the whisky of choice at home and across the world.”

Pip Hills, founder of the Scotch Malt Whisky Society, received the “Dr Jim Swan Award for Services to Scotch Whisky” for setting up the world’s largest whisky club, which now has more than 35,000 members.

“Many thanks for this award,” he said.

“After I compiled the Scotch Whisky Directory nearly 20 years ago, I thought I had done all I could about Scotch whisky and turned to other things.

“I was delighted when I found that the folk who now run the society are a great bunch of people and that they are doing the sort of things I was trying to do 40 years ago.

“And for this, they have my most sincere thanks.”

Read more news and reviews on Scottish Field’s food and drink pages.

Plus, don’t miss Blair Bowman’s whisky column in the January issue of Scottish Field magazine.